(813) 223-6773
(866) 921-7560 (813) 223-6773 EN ESPANOL

Tampa Uber and Lyft Injury Attorneys

Uber and Lyft are spreading around the country and growing in popularity every day. As a result, Uber and Lyft accidents are increasing in frequency, especially in urban areas. If you or a loved one suffered an injury caused by an Uber or Lyft driver, you deserve compensation. Contact Fiol & Morros Law Group for more information on determining liability and how we can best represent you.

Florida Uber and Lyft Law

Last year, Florida Gov. Rick Scott (R) signed a law that increases insurance requirements for Uber and Lyft drivers. They must carry additional insurance, along with the driving insurance already required by the state. The companies must also perform background checks on anyone who applies to be a driver in Florida.

Though driving under the influence of drugs is already illegal not only in Florida but across the country, the bill also added regulations for Uber and Lyft drivers who drive under the influence. The companies must use a no-tolerance policy, requiring them to immediately suspend any drivers whom they suspect of driving under the influence. After the suspension, the companies must conduct a thorough investigation on the accused driver to determine the validity of the accusations.

Uber and Lyft Accident Policy

If an accident happens during a rideshare trip and your driver was responsible, as a passenger, you are covered by a $1 million liability policy. If a lawsuit is required, you would sue the at-fault rideshare driver. If another driver is at fault while you are in rideshare, then you would look to that driver’s insurance policy for compensation. If they have no insurance or not enough to cover your damages, then both Uber and Lyft have a $1 million underinsured policy that may apply.

Uber and Lyft Insurance Requirements

Florida law outlines insurance requirements for all Florida drivers: Drivers must carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property liability coverage. The new Uber and Lyft driver insurance standards require the drivers to have extra coverage while logged into the application and engaged in a pre-arranged ride.

While logged in to the app, a driver must have additional coverage even if he or she does not have a passenger. If logged on without a passenger, he or she must have:

  • Primary liability coverage of at least $50,000 for death and physical injury for each person
  • Primary liability coverage of at least $100,000 for death and physical injury per incident
  • Property damage liability of at least $25,000 per incident
  • Personal injury protection and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage that is already required according to Florida law

Uber and Lyft drivers have even more extreme insurance requirements when they are carrying a passenger, as the risk is significantly higher. The insurance requirements include:

  • Primary liability coverage of at least $1 million for death, physical injury, and property damage
  • Personal injury protection and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage that is already required according to Florida law

Either the driver or the rideshare company must meet the insurance requirements. The ridesharing companies also must have coverage for victims if the driver’s coverage is not enough to fully compensate the victim.

Uber and Lyft Background Check Requirements

Florida lawmakers also created a background check requirement for ridesharing companies. They must conduct a background check not only when a driver initially applies, but also every three years after that, while he or she is still with the company. The person may not become a driver if he or she:

  • Has a record of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, driving recklessly, committing a hit-and-run, or committing various other driving offenses within the past five years
  • Has a record of driving with a suspended license within the past three years
  • Is on the sex offender registry
  • Does not have a valid driver’s license
  • Does not have a registered vehicle

Central Florida Ridesharing Attorney

If you suffered an injury in an Uber or Lyft in central Florida, you may be eligible to receive compensation. The car accident lawyers at Fiol & Morros Law Group can help you determine liability for the incident and the damages you may receive. Our experienced Tampa Bay personal injury attorneys who understand the complex laws surrounding ridesharing applications. Contact Fiol & Morros Law Group for knowledgeable and dedicated representation in your Uber or Lyft accident claim.